Power Divisional News – Chairman’s Award

Chairman’s Award


_mg_1256-b-744x800John Thompson wins Chairman’s Award for second year running

John Thompson has won The Chairman’s Award for the second year in a row. The award was inaugurated last year to recognise excellent management performance.

At this year’s awards presentation for the financial year end-March 2013, which formed part of the group’s  bi-annual review, Group CEO and Chairman Mark Wilson said many of the divisions are exceptionally well-managed, which made picking the winner extremely difficult.

JohnThompson merited particular recognition for its achievement in view of the fact that no order for watertube boilers was taken during the year, which meant R200-million of incremental business had to be found. It overcame this setback by securing alternative local orders and spares & repairs business.

Mark, who presented the Chairman’s Award to Andy Abbey, Divisional CEO of the Power division, commented: “The management team did an exceptional job in performing above budget in a difficult environment, growing its customer base and exports while maintaining control of the business.”

He also presented Certificates of Excellence to three other divisions for excellent performance in a difficult trading environment. Marthinusen & Coutts, Power Conversion and Reid & Mitchell received special mention.

The Chairman’s Award’s scope has also been extended since last year to include recognition of the achievements of smaller business units, three of which were selected as having performed particularly well in the past year. These were Current Electric, Signalling and Mechanical Equipment, which were also presented Certificates.